29
Apr
09

Videogame Violence

My previous rant was about The Ultimate Gamer and how the competitors were trying to do the same thing they do ingame, IRL.
Which made me think about Video Game Violence, the shootings in Columbine, Virginia Tech and the school shootings in Finland in 2007 & 2008

Is it really the games fault that things like this happen? Jack Thompson thinks so. Do I? Absolutely not. I personally blame the parents.

In a stressfull world like this it’s easy to overlook stuff and forget them. I mean, hell, my phone rings 5 times a day and I forget who called me two minutes after I hang up. All aboard the Alzheimerz-express I guess. But what I can’t understand is how the fuck you can “forget” or even fail to bother to check up on your kids and their computer habits. Sure, games are violent and some of them can probably affect you more then others, but so can movies, but do you see anyone blame violent movies for any of the tragedies mentioned above? NO! Not anymore.

So why do they blame videogames? Because that their interactive? I have no idea really. But I have a theory and it’s the New Media theory. People are stupid and ignorant. New = Scary and that’s how it always has been and probably always will be. I would have loved to live in the 18th century and see the people blame Mozart for the French Revolution.

The biggest game that opposition uses, atleast when the debate rises here in Sweden, is Postal 2.

A very violent game indeed and I totally agree that it should be banned. But not because it’s violent, it’s because it’s so goddamned, awfully bad! Sure, it’s fun for a couple of minutes, but it gets really boring and really repetitive, really fast. You can only throw gasoline on Anti-Videogame protestors that many times I guess. In short, it’s just plain awful. But why use this game as the posterchild of anti-videogame violence? Graphic Violence probably, as is the issue with the GTA-series.

I’ve heard all of the arguments hundreds of times and to be honest, I’m getting really sick of it. Instead of blaming the new media why don’t you actually try and understand it instead? Or better yet parents, spend time with your children, get to know them. Check out what they’re doing on their computer and check out the games they play. Who knows, we might even see you online soon enough.

<   –?–   >   

1 Response to “Videogame Violence”


  1. 1 Mr. D
    May 1, 2009 at 12:00

    I just remembered reading something about the school shootings in Finland. I read it on the Swedish Nihilists homepage. Something about school shootings being hard to avoid because the one’s doing it don’t care shit about the world.
    Nihilists follows a really strange and dark philosophy and think that some people just do this things because they want to. Not because they played a game or because they were bullied in school.
    I don’t really know what to blame and I really think that blaming things doesn’t lead to any solutions.


Leave a Reply

April 2009
M T W T F S S
    May »
 12345
6789101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
27282930  

Categories

Akira_san


