26
Apr
09

Quackshot starring donald duck

Quackshot cover

If you would ask me what the best game ever was when I was 6 years old, I would, without a doubt, say Quackshot. I hold this Sega genesis/mega drive platformer very close to my heart. I was the only one of all my friends who had a Sega Mega Drive and therefore nobody else I knew had ever played it. Thats why I will try to get the word out about this game.

The story is very basic. You are Donald Duck at your rich Uncle Scrooge’s library flipping through some books, when a map falls out wich leads to a big treasure. Donald decides to go after the treasure to give Daisy a birthday present or something. Pete overhears and follows you arounds all the time.

There are 3 stages when you start and when you complete them 4 new will unlock and so on.

You can play them in whatever order you want, though you can’t play the whole stages without the right items, which leads to alot of backtracking.

Screenshot1

The first weapon is in my opinion the best part of the game. You shoot plungers wich only stuns the enemy, but as the game progresses you can upgrade this weapon 2 times. The second upgrade makes the plungers red and makes them stick to walls so you can use them as a foothold to climb up walls. The Third makes them green and they stick to birds so you can fly long distances, they only come to use 2 times in the game though. Using plungers as a weapon is pure genious! I find myself using this weapon thoughout the whole game unless I need to use the bubblegum gun.

Then theres the halfshitty weapons. The popcorn gun wich kills the enemy unlike plungers which, as mentioned, only stuns them but theres not enough ammo in the game, and it uses 5 shots everytime you use it which is too much.

The bubblegum gun is required sometimes to take away blocks, like in Transylvania and the Southpole. If you use it as a weapon its just ssssooooo sssllloooowww.

quackshot123451

It does have some minor flaws though, sometimes it feels like there’s not enough enemies especially in dungeons. The game feels a bit easy because you have 8 hit points of life, combine that with the loss of enemies and you can pretty much run into every enemy in some stages. The game makes up for it by having very good platforming with very challenging jumps at the later stages. Some bosses are way to easy, it’s almost the “Shoot the head to kill” scenario that repeats. All and all its not annoying but it could use some work.

The games makes up for this by being an overall good platformer with very challenging jumps at the later stages

Alot of the game borrows stuff from the Indiana Jones movies wich is pretty funny, like how Donald dresses, the mine carting from The Temple of Doom and “the leap of faith” from The last crusade.

Screenshot 3

The controls are pretty good, but at the same time it’s awkward that you can’t run and jump at the same time due to the Mega Drive’s ABC button setup. You don’t really need it, but it should still be an option and not be overlooked due to a shitty controlsetup.

Genesis controller

Genesis controller

Overall it’s a nice game and you should definitely check it out!

//Akira_san

5 Responses to “Quackshot starring donald duck”


  1. 1 Mr. D
    April 26, 2009 at 16:25

    I will definitely check Quackshot out.
    Just need to buy a Genesis, which I have considered for a long time now.
    Thanks for another reason! 😀

  2. 2 deathout
    August 5, 2010 at 17:57

    This game is just perfect… Even now I think the graphics are so great… What to say, 19 years ago 🙂

  3. 3 Rafayet Hosain
    April 14, 2011 at 08:26

    I am still fan of this game……….

  4. August 2, 2013 at 14:20

    My brother suggested I might like this web site. He was entirely right.

    This post actually made my day. You cann’t imagine just how much time I had spent for this information! Thanks!

  5. March 13, 2014 at 19:19

    I got this web site from my friend who told me on the topic of this web site and
    at the moment this time I am visiting this website and reading very informative posts
    at this time.


Leave a Reply

April 2009
M T W T F S S
    May »
 12345
6789101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
27282930  

Categories

Akira_san


